Talk To Me

Talk To Me

by Bo_Emp

talk_to_me

Version for “Tales of the Veils” website.
Not for reproduction on other websites or in any other publishing format without author’s permission.

Well every night I see a light shine in your window
And every night you don’t answer when I come knocking at your door
Your daddy won’t ever let me in
I see from the street your silhouette sitting close to him
What must I do, what does it take, to get you to

Talk to me – until the night’s over
Talk to me – well until the night’s over, yeah yeah yeah
I get a full week’s pay
And baby I’ve been working hard each day
I’m not asking for the world you see
I’m just asking, girl
Talk to me

Well late at night I hear the music softly playing
And late at night I see the two of you softly swaying
I don’t understand darling what was my sin
Why am I down here below, your arms are open to him
What did I do, what did I say, what must I pay
To get you to

Talk to me – until the night’s over
Talk to me
Well until the night is over, yeah yeah yeah
I got a full week’s pay
And baby I’ve been working hard each day
I’m not asking for the world you see
I’m just asking darlin’, talk to me
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

I don’t understand darling what was my sin
Why am I down here below and
your arms are open to him
What did I do, what did I say, what must I pay
To get you to

Talk to me – until the night’s over
Talk to me
Well until the night’s over
yeah yeah yeah
I got a full week’s pay
And baby I’ve been working
hard each day
I’m not asking for the world you see
I’m just asking darling please
I’m down on my bended knees
Talk to me

© 1978 Bruce Springsteen

Now for the first time we are alone, the wedding guests are left to party on their own.
Having removed the last of the heavy veils you wore my love,
the pretty face I see is beyond my dreams.
Soon we are going to consummate what the mullah has legalised.
And then it’s you, who need to prove, you love me too, so
Talk to me – until the night is over

I first noticed you walking from school fully covered as decent girls should.
I fell in love with that swinging step, the matching sandals and the way
your headscarf swung around your veil and neck.
My love brought me to your home because asking veiled girls brings you shame.
Soon it’s you, who need to prove, you love me too, so
Talk to me – until the night is over

For many nights I watched a light shine in your window,
because no one would answer when I came knocking at your door.
Your daddy wouldn’t ever let me in.
I had to watch from the street your silhouette sitting close to him.
I didn’t know how to get to you, so now amend those nights
Talk to me – until the night is over

Well, late at night I heard the music softly playing,
and I saw another male silhouette debating.
I thought the suitor was a wise and wealthy man,
until I found out he was an impostor and reported him.
I did what I had to do, to again get to you, now I’m asking you
Talk to me – until the night is over

When your daddy learned he came to me to repent.
He didn’t know I was an honest man of respectable descent.
I get a full weeks pay,
and baby I’ve always been working hard each day.
I’m not asking for the world you see, I simply ask you girl to
Talk to me – until the night is over

Our strict customs are good and says a wife has to be
clad in the black burqa with only small meshes for her to see.
Always your face and body has to be veiled.
Even to me you only show more the night before the holy day
Now your face and body is nude while I enjoy that you
Talk to me – until the night is over

At school you have worked hard to learn to read and write.
There is no other way for a decent married woman to communicate.
She has to be mute.
You can alas only talk to me tonight. Tomorrow the female doctor arrives.
She makes a cut, that breaks your vocal cords to ensure you don’t
Talk to men – either night or day

Copyright © 2011, Bo_Emp ; bo_emp ‘at’ yahoo ‘dot’ com

Thanks to Nye North for proof reading

Back to the Darkness Collection…

One thought on “Talk To Me

Leave a Reply

