The Darkness Collection

The Darkness Collection

by Bo_Emp


Here traveller, we may find the works of Bo_Emp, Denmark’s most renowned veiling author, coupled with the musical genius of the USA’s Bruce Springsteen. Taking a song off Springsteen’s classic ‘Darkness on the Edge of Town‘ album (1978) as his inspiration, Bo_Emp has penned a series of vignettes on the veiled life with the protagonists unwittingly living out the words of Bruce’s songs. So, crank up your record player, put on the old 33 and enjoy a new adventure in veiling fiction…
Dave Potter

Music is one of the most important things in life. Whenever you feel down playing music can get you on your feet again. Most important is the rhythm and the sound, but the lyrics adds to give the right mood. And “We learned more from a three minute record than we ever learned in school” (No Surrender by Bruce Springsteen). The best songs of course combine fantastic music and telling lyrics. After writing some stories based on pictures, I considered writing stories based on songs. The first songs to come to my mind was the Bruce Springsteen album ‘Darkness On The Edge Of Town’ which I consider one of the best albums ever made, and perhaps the best album to have both fantastic music and lyrics. Besides it belongs to a very small group of non-compilation albums having no weak songs. It only has the weak point that the vocal is mixed a little back in the sound which combined with a lot of words in many lines, makes it hard to catch the lyrics when listening to the songs. But just look at your screen while listening, print it – or learn it by heart. I find these songs addictive. Because even though many are set in New Jersey they describe life as it is lived all over the world, also among women wearing veil.

This collection has in 2011 been extended with the songs of The Promise to be found below.


Inspired by the music of
Bruce Springsteen’s
Darkness On The Edge Of Town

Stories and photomanips
by Bo_Emp

The Promise


In November 2010 the album The Promise was released. This is a double CD compilation of previously unreleased songs drawing from the Darkness on the Edge of Town sessions, and as such The Darkness Collection wouldn’t be complete without them. It’s only these studio recordings that are unreleased, as many of the songs are known by having been given away to be recorded by other artists or from appearing on live releases.
The album is also available as part of the box set The Promise: The Darkness on the Edge of Town Story. In addition to the double CD it contains a remaster of the original album (which actually has a much clearer sound than any previous release – highly recommended), a DVD of the Thom Zimny documentary about the recording sessions, a DVD of a complete live without audience performance of all ten original songs from 2009 and a DVD with a ‘bootleg’ recording of a three hour live performance in Houston 1978.

This extension of The Darkness Collection was started by the sad news of E Street Band saxophone player Clarence Clemons passing away in June 2011 at age 69. In 2008 the E Street Band lost organ player Danny Federici at age 58. May they rest in peace.

  • Racing in the Street (’78)… (lyrics too close to original to write a different story)
  • Gotta Get That Feeling… (yet unwritten)
  • Outside Looking In… (yet unwritten)
  • Someday (We’ll Be Together)… (yet unwritten)
  • One Way Street… (yet unwritten)
  • Because the Night… (yet unwritten)
  • Wrong Side of the Street… (yet unwritten)
  • The Brokenhearted… (yet unwritten)
  • Rendezvous… (yet unwritten)
  • Candy’s Boy… (yet unwritten)
  • Save My Love… (yet unwritten)
  • Ain’t Good Enough for You… (yet unwritten)
  • Fire… (Jul 2011)
  • Spanish Eyes… (yet unwritten)
  • It’s a Shame… (yet unwritten)
  • Come On (Let’s Go Tonight)… (yet unwritten)
  • Talk to Me… (Jul 2011)
  • The Little Things (My Baby Does)… (yet unwritten)
  • Breakaway… (yet unwritten)
  • The Promise… (yet unwritten)
  • City of Night… (yet unwritten)
  • The Way (hidden track)… (yet unwritten)


11 thoughts on “The Darkness Collection

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s