The Modest Missionary

The Modest Missionary

by Veiled Kingdom

modest_missionary

This story is a sequel to “Veiled Tiffany“, but although there are many references to this it’s not a prerequisite for reading this story.

Tiffany and Emily had been home from Morocco for three months. Like many other missionaries before them throughout history, they felt that they had done great help for the local people but had failed to get the message of the Gospels across to them. The future of their missionary journeys was in question.

Tiffany thought about her Muslim boyfriend Jaul on a regular basis.

She read the Qur’an cover to cover, as her former boyfriend had requested.

“I’m noticing a lot of overlap with the Bible, but I just don’t believe it was a divine revelation. I fully respect the people who do, but it is not my faith,” Tiffany explained to her sister.

“I agree with all of that,” Emily said.

“Where do we go from here?” Emily asked Tiffany.

“We didn’t gain many converts in Morocco. It’s illegal to even teach Christianity in most Muslim nations of the world. I feel like we should have gone to Central America or Africa like most of the other missionary groups,” Emily continued.

“We can’t give up,” Tiffany told her.

“It was difficult, but we’re in the kind of work that will always be difficult,” Tiffany continued.

“Are you still going to write your book?” Emily asked her.

I don’t know. I have a lot of thinking and praying to do.

“I can’t write a children’s book. I don’t have any material or ideas for it,” Tiffany thought to herself.

“But I do have other ideas. Maybe a series on YouTube,” she thought.

Tiffany prayed about her future plans.

After a couple of nights of thinking, she knew there was only one path she could take. She contacted the Foundation for permission to create a weblog instead of writing a children’s book.

She noticed something on her laptop. She received an email back from the Foundation.

“Dear Miss Gilbert,
We are disappointed that you have chosen not to write a children’s book. However, we approve your decision to create a video series instead,”
a Foundation representative told her.

“Yes!” Tiffany shouted out loud.

Her plans for a web series were not in full gear.

“But I can’t be just another woman on YouTube babbling about whatever is on my mind. I need an edge,” she thought.

Thinking back to her experiences in Morocco, she had another idea.

“Hello world,” Tiffany said to the camera.

“Welcome to The Modest Missionary, my new web video series,” she continued.

“You may know me from playing the Biblical character Rebecca a few years ago in the movie Center of Genesis [1]. I still get a lot of fan mail from that,” she told her audience.

“As you can see I’m wearing a niqab. It’s a veil worn in much of the Muslim world,” she continued.

“I’m not a Muslim. I’m very much a Christian. So the first thing you may be wondering is why I’m wearing this,” she said.

“I’ve done a lot of missionary work in Morocco, where most of the population is Muslim,” she said.

“I met a lot of nice people there and many of women wore veils just like the one I’m wearing now,” she continued.

“When I was in Morocco I dressed like the women in that culture. Most of the people I met in Morocco never even saw my face,” she continued.

“My experiences there really got me thinking about how women dress in our culture and how different things are here and there,” she continued.

“My first plan was to go to Morocco and use my experiences to write a children’s book,” she said.

“I’ve done a lot of thinking and praying about it and I’ve decided instead to create a web series on YouTube. I’ve decided to dress like a Muslim woman in order to promote modesty in our culture,” she continued.

“But don’t be confused. Even though I’m wearing the niqab and that’s normally associated with Muslims, I am a Christian and this is a Christian webcast,” she said.

“I won’t be directly teaching the Bible here – there’s already a lot of other people doing that – which is good and is important. But what I want to do here is to discuss some things I don’t feel enough people are paying attention to and that we as Christians and especially society as a whole need to,” she added.

“I might also go over Christian-Muslim issues, but that won’t be the focus of my series,” she continued.

“I look forward to you joining me for future broadcasts,” she said.

“Goodbye,” she concluded.

Tiffany decided to do a broadcast concerning how much time and money women spend on themselves.

“Hello everyone,” Tiffany began.

“Today I wanted to talk about how women in our society as encouraged to use their looks to get by,” she continued.

“Everywhere we look there are ads for clothes and makeup and perfumes, and millions of women spend billions of dollars on these things each year,” she continued.

“In many cultures women only have a few clothes. In Muslim cultures they often have the veils they wear,” she continued.

“I don’t want to go after anyone who seeks to look good, but we have to understand that where we spend our money says a lot about what we think is important. And when we spend all of this money on our own vanity, it only leads us to be arrogant,” she continued.

Tiffany decided to discuss political events in the next broadcast.

“Hello to all of my viewers,” Tiffany said.

“If you’ve been watching the news you’ve probably seen that there’s a politician in Texas who’s trying to make face veiling illegal,” she continued.

“State senator Ted Radamacher has introduced legislation which would make it illegal for anyone to cover their face in public in Texas, with a few exceptions for certain occupations such as welders or paramedics or things like that,” she said.

“He says this is about public safety, but everyone knows he’s going after Muslim women,” she continued.

“If you live in Texas, I urge you to write to Senator Rademacher and tell him to reconsider his position. I also encourage you to write to other state senators and representatives and encourage them to vote against this if it ever becomes a bill,” she continued.

“Even if you don’t live in Texas, you should still write to him because this has become an issue in the national news. Mr. Rademacher has expressed interest in going further in his political career, and if he ever becomes the Senator or Representative from Texas and serves in Washington DC, he would be voting on legislation which would affect the whole nation,” she continued.

“We value religious freedom in America, and that goes for all religions,” Tiffany concluded.

Tiffany created her next video.

“Hello everyone. For today’s weblog, I want to do something a little different,” Tiffany told her audience. “As you all know, I wanted to write a children’s book but instead God led me to create this video series. I still have a lot of creative ideas going through my head so I prayed about it and need to get them out. I want to tell a fictional story today. It’s not from the Bible but it is set in Biblical times,” she continued.

“It’s like Ben Hur. It’s not from the Bible but it feels like something you’d read in the Bible,” she continued.

“My story today is about a Jewish woman living in the first century named Nava,” she began.

“Nava is the Hebrew word for ‘beautiful’,” she explained.

“Like the missionary Paul, Nava wrote a number of letters. These letters were always addressed to the women of the church and explained how they should behave,” Tiffany told them.

“Nava would often encourage women to conceal their beauty,” she said.

“I’m going to read one of the letters of Nava to the church in Corinth,” she said.

“Remember, this is religious fiction. It’s not in the Bible and I’m in no way claiming it is,” she continued.

“Dear Church in Corinth,

I am writing to address some of the issues which have come to my attention. Many of the women have told me that they are having a hard time remaining faithful to their husbands. They say that men are always trying to tempt them.

I am going to suggest that you make yourselves less attractive to the strange men who are seeking you out. You should cover your hair and your faces. This will discourage men who are not your husband from trying to tempt you.

God has given you your beauty, and he is the one who will tell you what to do with it. Once you have a husband, there is no need to use your beauty on other men.

And if it is possible for a young, unmarried woman to have her marriage arranged, then she should begin the practice of veiling before her wedding day,” Tiffany read the story of Nava.

“I know that there are some new viewers out there who may not be familiar with the Bible, so let me once again make it clear that isn’t in the Bible. It’s just something I thought might fit in had veiling been more common in the early Church.

Tiffany now had more than two dozen videos online. Some of the first ones she produced had tens of thousands of views.

“Hello everyone,” Tiffany told her audience.

“I’m broadcasting for the last time tonight. Yes, I know it’s sad, but after a lot of praying I’ve determined that it’s time for the Modest Missionary to come to an end,” she said.

The End

[1] “Center of Genesis” is another TOTV story by Veiled Kingdom.

One thought on “The Modest Missionary

Leave a Reply

